Book Review: The Design of Future Things

It has been a while since I’ve read a good paperback book. And this is so worth the Powerbooks gift check my uncle gave to me for my birthday. My mom found this book lying on one of the shelves when we were looking for books that would possibly be of great help in jump starting my group’s thesis project. I am glad to say that judging this book by its cover and the blurbs at the back has been the best thing I’ve done last Sunday because it made me buy it and read it from cover to cover.

And where were my manners?! Donald Norman’s book, “The Design of Future Things,” discusses the gaps between man and machine and offers rules that designers must take to mind in order for them to design consumer friendly systems. Yes, I finally managed to write a one sentence summary! The author gives importance to the symbiosis that must exist between every man using a machine and sheds light on the impact of communication systems between machine and user.

Yes, I think that’s enough of a sneak peek because I want you to read it too! I finished reading Donald Norman’s 200+ page book in three days and I am not ashamed of my incredibly slow pace because I wanted every word to seep into my brain. Well, not really. But I did manage to take to heart the design rules that Norman graciously outlined a few times in the book.

Other than that, I enjoyed the humor that the author managed to inject while emphasizing on the critical points of the topic. There was a hint of sarcasm, irony and plain funny in the book which removes the dull and makes you keep reading it. The wonderful thing about this book is that the words are incredibly light to the eyes and practically anybody can read it. The technical jargon are used to a minimum and if there are, the author explains them in the simplest way possible. I love readings books like that, easy on the eyes. It provides a wider reader market and it does not cut the reading momentum. It keeps me focused in the thought and not on that eyesore of a jargon that I would have to look up in the Appendix or on Merriam-Webster.

I am looking forward to reading more of Norman’s books and referring to some of his references for our thesis project. So if you’re like me looking for a thesis topic with relation to electronics, automation, design, ergonomics, or the like, OR if you just want a good read this summer, I suggest you get a copy of this book, too.

A

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Design of Future Things”

  1. Everyone loves what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve added you guys to
    my own blogroll.

Leave a Reply

