I never liked rumbling sounds. Unless it was a kind of laugh, maybe.

My dad and my brother are talking in the other room and I can hear their voices rumbling through my walls. For some reason, it is freaking me out. I know they’re discussing my brother’s attitude towards schoolwork. He’s kind of a slacker. I don’t blame him though. Circumstance partly brought him to that point and the other part is him being a teenager already (lazy hormones, y’know).

Anyway, back to my point. I never really liked the sound of low rumbling voices. The ones that seem to reverberate around the walls and find their way into your chest. I hate those sounds. Especially when they’re in angry tones. (But don’t get me wrong, I love party music with massive bass on it. )

I remember when I was a toddler, my mom had enrolled me in this Tae Kwon Do class that I took every Thursday at a Gym just near the pre-school that I attended. During my second session there, I clearly remember that I came running to Mom, bawling because I got scared of my instructor’s voice. To those who take up martial arts of any kind, I think you know what I mean – that firm authoritative voice that borders booming at times. I’ll never forget that day. I believe that I sworn off taking any martial arts classes anymore. (Which didn’t really come true because I took up Karate when I was 7 and then seriously trained Tae Kwon Do when I was 11. )

Well, I always thought that I got over that phase. (Or maybe my 2nd Tae Kwon Do instructor didn’t have a booming voice as the first one). Guess not. Come to think of it, I’ve always been terrified of professors who sounded so commanding. It always gave me the impression that they’d eat me if I did anything wrong. I always end up holding my breath for the most part of class – when I had professors like those. Yes, it’s like I’m watching some suspense thriller and the big bad wolf just shows up behind you and then just eats your face off.

If I could just scream how I’m feeling around them… but I don’t want a trip to the discipline office. Better hold my breath until the term ends. Or at least until the rumbling noise stops.

XO

Leave a Reply

